We celebrate and our proud to share the accomplishments of our faculty and staff this academic year, whose excellent work is shared and recognized beyond our community.

Mayra Artiles (PhD '19) is the AERA Graduate and Postdoctoral Education Across the Disciplines Special Interest Group Outstanding Dissertation Awardee for 2020. This award, given biennially, is in special recognition for a dissertation's contributions to important knowledge in the study of doctoral education.

Diana Bairaktarova is the recipient of the 2020 W.S. “Pete” White Innovation in Engineering Education Award from the College of Engineering, which honors faculty who provide creative and unique ways to impact student learning. She is also receiving the 2020 XCaliber Award from Technology-Enhanced Learning and Online Strategies (TLOS), in recognition of exceptional, high-caliber contributions to technology-enriched teaching and learning.

David Gray is the College of Engineering Sporn Awardee for 2020. Given by the Student Engineers' Council from student nominations, the Sporn Award recognizes engineering faculty who has demonstrated excellence in undergraduate instruction.

Maia Greene-Havas received the 2020 Alumni Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Academic Advising by Virginia Tech and Certificate of Merit of the Outstanding Advising Award - Primary Advising Role by NACADA, in recognition of her outstanding efforts as an academic advisor and the role she plays in supporting and retaining students.

Jacob Grohs received the College of Engineering Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, which recognizes faculty who have made significant contributions to classroom teaching improvements, new course development, curricular reform, distance learning and web-based courses, and guidance of student projects, or have a stellar record in graduate student supervision.

Matthew James received the Certificate for Teaching Excellence from the College of Engineering. This certificate recognizes instructors who demonstrate effective student learning strategies, exemplary curriculum design, professional development, and impact beyond Virginia Tech.

David Knight recevied the Alumni Award for Excellence in International Education, in recognition of his significant impact on international education at the university, particularly his contributions to the internationalization of Virginia Tech, the impact on students, on the campus and community, and the significance and sustainability of the initiative he led - the Rising Sophomore Abroad Program

Walter Lee (Ph.D. '15) has been named a College of Engineering Faculty Fellow, and will receive a grant to support his research in the next three fiscal years. He was also named 2020 Outstanding Recent Alumnus by the Virginia Tech Alumni Association.

Holly Matusovich has been inducted into the Virginia Tech Academy of Faculty Leadership, an honor bestowed upon faculty members who have made exemplary contributions in formal service roles or in areas of leadership. She is also the incoming editor of Advances in Engineering Education.

Cassandra McCall (Ph.D. '17) is a recipient of the Excellence in Access and Inclusion Award. Given by the Services for Students with Disabilities, the award recognizes faculty, staff, departments, and programs for contributing to an inclusive and accessible environment at Virginia Tech.


The  Center for Educational Networks and Impacts at Virginia Tech, directed by Dr. Lisa McNair, is the recipient of the Impact Innovations Award from the Center for Advancing Research Impact in Society. The award recognizes recipients for developing new approaches to and strategies for engagement in and translation of research.

Homero Murzi (Ph.D. '16) has been named Alumni of the Decade by his alma mater, the National Experimental University of Tachira in Venezuela.